Get in touch

What are the different types of judges?

The Family Courts have different types of judges and consist of two ranks: District Judge and Circuit Judge.

It is important to understand the roles of different types of judges in a family court. A District Judge is can be part time judge or panel of Lay Justices.

A Circuit Judge is higher ranked than a District Judge and will receive appeals from a District Judge Court or Court of Lay Justices and adjudicate upon them.

An appropriate level of Judge to deal with subject family matter depends on the complexity of the case and legal issues involved in it.

A part-time Judge of Circuit Judge rank is usually called a “Recorder”.

An appeal from a Circuit Judge goes to Court of Appeal to consider and decide upon and make appropriate orders.

different type of judges UK

In all circumstances, Lay Justices, Judges and Circuit Judges and Judges at Court of Appeal must adhere to legal interpretations and application of law by superior ranked Judges and court of law. The judgements and orders passed in prior and similar family law matters on the file of the superior courts become precedents and binding upon the lower ranked courts.

For more information on different types of judges please visit our Legal Library.


Contact us to see how we can help you with your divorce

For more information on your options, or should you require more information about different types of judges call our team on 0845 862 5001 or email

We have client meeting office facilities available, in order to have face-to-face client meetings / conferences as and when required in London WC2N 4JF and Manchester M2 4PD. Please contact us for more details.

Was this article helpful?

06th October 2016

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

68 + = 75

Chess Piece

Make the first move

Find out how we can help you, call us on
0333 311 0925 or email us today.

Contact Us
Back up to top Back to Top